The weather this past weekend was exquisite.  Unseasonably cool for April in Texas.  We soaked up every minute we could out on the front porch.

The wind blew gently through the trees.  I sipped my coffee.  He read his book.  And I began to think about the presence of God, how it is much like the wind.  So mysterious, so hard to define, but ever-present, His presence.  Believing in such a radical concept takes faith, how can God be real and present in our lives if we cannot see Him?

That morning the wind gave me a clear picture.

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”
                                                                                                 – Hebrews 11:1

We do not see the wind, but we see how it moves things.  We see how it orchestrates the leaf, pushing it from its home on the branch, carrying it across the open sky, and finally allowing it to come to a place of rest on the ground.

We do not see the wind, but as we see it move through things around us, we believe it is there.

For me, I see God work in the same way.  We cannot see Him, but if we look for Him, we can see Him moving in all things around us.

But more than just seeing, I feel the wind – and I can feel presence of God.  I cannot describe how His presence feels, nor can I describe the rush of wind that moves across my skin.  The feeling is mysterious, beyond my comprehension, but nonetheless I cannot deny it is there.

Sweet Spirit, may I know Your presence more today than I did yesterday.  May I feel Your gentle touch as You sustain me today and work all around me.  May I have eyes to see You in everything.  Praise You, Lord, for allowing us to know You so well.

